UNESCO World Heritage Sites in Central America

There are 17 UNESCO World Heritage Sites in Central America. These sites are broken down into the following: 9 cultural sites, 7 natural sites, and 1 mixed site.


Costa Rica

El Salvador




  • León Cathedral
  • Ruins of León Viejo


Gary Arndt
Gary Arndt

Gary began traveling the world in 2007. His travels have taken him to over 200 countries and territories and 400 UNESCO World Heritage Sites.

He is a 3x Lowell Thomas Award winner and a 3x North American Travel Photographer of the Year.

View my complete list of UNESCO World Heritage Sites.