UNESCO World Heritage Sites in South America

Last Updated on

As of 2017, there are 42 UNESCO World Heritage Sites in South America. There are 3 transboundary sites, 30 cultural sites, 10 natural sites, and 2 mixed sites. In this list of UNESCO World Heritage Sites in South America, 3 are added to the World Heritage Sites in Danger.



  • Jesuit Missions of the Chiquitos
  • Tiwanaku: Spiritual and Political Centre of the Tiwanaku Culture


  • Jesuit Missions of the Guaranis: San Ignacio Mini, Santa Ana, Nuestra Señora de Loreto and Santa Maria Mayor (Argentina), Ruins of Sao Miguel das Missoes (Brazil)
  • Serra da Capivara National Park
  • Historic Centre of São Luís
  • Central Amazon Conservation Complex
  • Cerrado Protected Areas: Chapada dos Veadeiros and Emas National Parks
  • Historic Centre of the Town of Goiás
  • Pampulha Modern Ensemble
  • Valongo Wharf Archaeological Site


  • Churches of Chloe
  • Rapa Nui National Park
  • Qhapaq Nan, Incasic Road System
  • Historic Quarter of the Seaport City of Valparaiso
  • Humberstone and Santa Laura Saltpeter Works
  • Sewell Mining Town


  • Port, Fortresses and Group of Monuments, Cartagena
  • Los Katíos National Park
  • Historic Centre of Santa Cruz de Mompox
  • National Archeological Park of Tierradentro
  • San Agustín Archaeological Park

Costa Rica



  • Jesuit Missions of La Santísima Trinidad de Paraná and Jesús de Tavarangue


    • City of Cuzco
    • Chavin (Archaeological Site)
    • Huascarán National Park
    • Historic Centre of Lima
    • Río Abiseo National Park
    • Lines and Geoglyphs of Nasca and Palpa


    • Historic Inner City of Paramaribo


    • Fray Bentos Industrial Landscape


  • Coro and its Port
  • Ciudad Universitaria de Caracas

View my complete list of UNESCO World Heritage Sites.