UNESCO World Heritage Sites in Colombia

There are 9 UNESCO World Heritage Sites in Colombia. Of these 8 sites, 6 are cultural, 2 are natural, and 1 is mixed.

Colombia UNESCO Sites Placeholder
Colombia UNESCO Sites

Coffee Cultural Landscape of Colombia (2011)

The Coffee Cultural Landscape of Colombia is a cultural site added to the list of UNESCO World Heritage Sites in Colombia. It is not to be confused with “the coffee axis” and the “coffee triangle”. This site represents how the production of coffee has shaped the cultural landscape of a region.

Coffee is an important part of the cultural tradition in the mountainous region of Colombia. This tradition has been around for many centuries. It developed from small plots in the forest to larger farms. It also signifies how the coffee growers had adapted their cultivation of coffee to suit the mountainous conditions where coffee is grown. The Coffee Cultural Landscape of Colombia is composed of 6 farming sites.

Historic Centre of Santa Cruz de Mompox (1995)

The Historic Centre of Santa Cruz de Mompox is one of the cultural UNESCO World Heritage Sites in Colombia. A colonial city, it has managed to preserve its colonial heritage and character over the centuries that followed since its Spanish colonization. The city was founded in the early 16th century as a safe port. Eventually, the port contributed to the prosperity of the city since this is where the goods are transported.

Aside from the port, a royal mint was also established in the city and it became known for its goldsmiths. Durin the 19th century, this prosperous state waned down. It was added to the UNESCO list in 1995.

National Archeological Park of Tierradentro (1995)

This archaeological park is known for its pre-Columbian hypogea. These were discovered during a series of excavations at the site. This park is divided into several archaeological sites. A typical hypogeum contains a main chamber that is 5-8 meters below the surface. Some of these hypogea contain patterns that are written in red, black and white. In addition, there are also evidences of pottery, fabrics and statues at the site.

Port, Fortresses and Group of Monuments, Cartagena (1984)

This Cultural Site Is One Of The UNESCO World Heritage Sites In Colombia. This Site Encompasses A Group Of Military Constructions. Meanwhile, It Also Serves As An Important Way Station For Traders And Explorers. Cartagena Is A Large City Seaport Located On The Northern Part Of Colombia. It Was Founded In The Early 16th Century And Was Named After The Murcia Region Of Spain. Aside From Being An Important Seaport, Cartagena Was The Site Of Early Spanish Settlement In The Americas. Since Its Founding, The Spaniards Developed A Defense Plan That Included Building Walled Military Fortresses To Protect The City From Pirates. These Military Forts Are Preserved Until Today.

Qhapaq Ñan, Andean Road System (2014)

The Inca Road System, also known as Qhapaq Ñan, is the most advanced and extensive transportation system in the Americas. It was established during the pre-Columbian era of South America. The road system measures up to 39,900 kilometers long and extends up to six countries. Aside from Colombia, the other countries covered by this transport system are Argentina, Bolivia, Chile, Peru and Ecuador. Despite the fact that it has been 400 years since it was built, the fact that the transport system is still in good condition today speaks a lot to the quality of the construction.

San Agustín Archaeological Park (1995)

This archaeological site is another cultural property in the UNESCO World Heritage Sites in Colombia. It is located in San Agustin, Huila. This property is home to the largest collection of megalithic sculptures and religious monuments in Latin America. In addition, it is even considered as the largest necropolis in the world. In addition to all of these cultural significance, this site also contains a high level of concentration of graves. There are three sites that are comprised within this archaeological park: San Augustine, the High Idols and the High Stones.

Los Katíos National Park (1994)

This national park is the first of two natural sites listed under the UNESCO World Heritage Sites in Colombia. This national park is a protected area with an elevation range from 50 to 600 meters. The park is also a part of the Darien Gap, which Colombia shares with Panama. In 1994, it was inscribed by UNESCO as a world heritage property for its extraordinary diversity of plant and animal species. The forest within the park comprises for 25% of the bird species in the coutry.

Malpelo Fauna and Flora Sanctuary (2006)

The Malpelo Fauna and Flora Sanctuary is another natural site from the list of UNESCO World Heritage Sites in Colombia. This is a protected area that serves as a natural sanctuary for sharks, turtles and other types of sea animals. This designated UNESCO property comprises of the Malpelo Island along with its marine environment. Since this is a protected area is also a fishing-free zone. Hence, it has become an oasis for oceanic desert. The island is home to hammerhead and silky sharks. It also serves as a natural habitat for various critically endangered species.

Chiribiquete National Park – “The Maloca of the Jaguar” (2018)