UNESCO World Heritage Sites in Slovakia

There are seven UNESCO World Heritage Sites in Slovakia. Two of these sites are natural and the rest are cultural sites.

Slovakia UNESCO Sites Placeholder
Slovakia UNESCO Sites

Bardejov Town Conservation Reserve (2000)

This cultural site was inscribed into the list of UNESCO World Heritage Sites in Slovakia in 2000. Although small it is exceptional in its state of preservation. In this town, you will find medieval fortifications and other remarkable features and monuments that date back to the 18th century. There is also a small Jewish quarter in the town, which is exactly the same as it was during the 18th century.

Historic Town of Banská Štiavnica and the Technical Monuments in its Vicinity (1993)

The Trinity Column in Banská Štiavnica

The town of Banska Stiavnica is a result of combined efforts from scientists and engineers who have visited this town over a period of several centuries. This town used to be a mining center until Renaissance palaces, elegant squares, castles and churches were built all over it. One of the most distinctive features about this site, which also earned it a spot in the list of UNESCO World Heritage Sites in Slovakia, is how the urban center blends in with the natural landscape. Just like its old mining history, it seems that these two different aspects of the town (urban and natural) underwent metallurgical union.

Levo?a, Spišský Hrad and the Associated Cultural Monuments (1993)

This cultural site was initially inscribed into the UNESCO World Heritage Sites in Slovakia. However, the site included within the property was extended in 2009. This site offers the largest collection of 13th and 14th century religious, political and military buildings. These buildings feature a wide range of architectural styles including Gothic and Romanesque styles.

Vlkolínec (1993)

Located right in the heart of Slovakia, this remarkable settlement has been intact for several centuries. Hence, it was included in the list of UNESCO World Heritage Sites in Slovakia. There are 45 buildings in total included in this site and they are traditional log houses that depict what a central European village looks like. This settlement is also located in mountainous areas of Slovakia.

Wooden Churches of the Slovak part of the Carpathian Mountain Area (2008)

This is one of the sites on the list that is shared with another country. The wooden churches in the Carpathian Mountain Area were built during the 16th to 18th centuries. These churches belong to various denominations including Roman Catholic, Greek Orthodox and Protestant churches. These sites were noted as culturally important to be one of the UNESCO World Heritage Sites in Slovakia as they depict traditional religious architecture in the region, especially during the time period when they were built.

Caves of Aggtelek Karst and Slovak Karst (1995)

This is the first of only two natural sites in the list of UNESCO World Heritage Sites in Slovakia. This cave formation made it to the list for the variety of rock formations found within the cave. What makes this cave system unique is that it features a combination of formations that resulted from glacial and tropical climactic effects. This is indeed a rare combination and as such this cave has been the subject of geological studies in the past several years.

Ancient and Primeval Beech Forests of the Carpathians and Other Regions of Europe (2007)

Beech Forest

This is another shared site in this list of UNESCO World Heritage Sites in Slovakia. It is also a natural site that was inscribed into the list in 2007. This forest represents an ongoing post-glacial ecological and biological evolution. It is specifically used as a subject to study the spread of beech in a variety of environments. The area protected by UNESCO was expanded in 2011 – the total area added was over 4,000 hectares in size.