Rapa Nui National Park: UNESCO World Heritage Site

Posted: December 12, 2008    Categories: World Heritage Sites

Rapa Nui National Park: UNESCO Word Heritage Site

Rapa Nui National Park: UNESCO Word Heritage Site

From the World Heritage inscription:

Rapa Nui National Park is a protected Chilean wildlife area located in Easter Island, which concentrates the legacy of the Rapa Nui culture. This culture displayed extraordinary characteristics that are expressed in singular architecture and sculpture within the Polynesian context. Easter Island, the most remote inhabited island on the planet, is 3,700 kilometres from the coast of continental Chile and has an area of 16,628 hectares while the World Heritage property occupies an area of approximately seven thousand hectares, including four nearby islets.

The island was colonized toward the end of the first millennium of the Christian era by a small group of settlers from Eastern Polynesia, whose culture manifested itself between the eleventh and seventeenth centuries in great works such as the ahu –ceremonial platforms- and carved moai – colossal statues- representing ancestors. Rapa Nui National Park most prominent attributes are the archaeological sites. It is estimated that there are about 900 statues, more than 300 ceremonial platforms and thousands of structures related to agriculture, funeral rites, housing and production, and other types of activities. Prominent among the archaeological pieces are the moai that range in height from 2 m to 20 m and are for the most part carved from the yellow–brown lava tuff, using simple picks (toki) made from hard basalt and then lowered down the slopes into previously dug holes. There are many kinds of them and of different sizes: those in the process of being carved, those in the process of being moved to their final destinations –the ahu-, those being torn down and erected. The quarries (Rano Raraku and others) are invaluable evidence of the process of their carving. The ahu vary considerably in size and form; the most colossal is the Ahu Tongariki, with its 15 moai. There are certain constant features, notably a raised rectangular platform of large worked stones filled with rubble, a ramp often paved with rounded beach pebbles, and levelled area in front of the platform. Also extremely valuable are the rock art sites (pictographs and petroglyphs), which include a large variety of styles, techniques and motifs. Other archaeological sites are the caves, which also contain rock art. There is also a village of ceremonial nature named Orongo which stands out because of its location and architecture. While it has not attracted as much attention, the housing and productive structures are of extreme interest.

Easter Island (Rapa Nui) is the most isolated island on Earth. It is 2,000km from the nearest spec of land. Famed for its stone heads, or moai, it is one of the wonders of the world. This photo is of the only moai on Easter Island to be restored with the white coral eyes. The eyes were discovered after a toppled moai was moved and the eyes found underneath. All upright moai on the island, save for those found still intact at the quarry, have been restored since 1950.

View my complete list of UNESCO World Heritage sites.

21 Responses to "Rapa Nui National Park: UNESCO World Heritage Site"

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *